top of page

SAFe Advance Scrum Master Certification

Applying the Scrum Master role within a SAFe® enterprise

What can you expect from SAFe Advance Scrum Master course?

SAFe Advanced Scrum Master (ASM) is a two-day training course that provides advanced education in the Scaled Agile Framework (SAFe) approach, focusing on Scrum Methodology. The course is designed for experienced Scrum Masters looking to take their skills to the next level and lead their teams more effectively. 

The course covers a wide range of advanced topics, including: 

  • The Scrum Master's role in the SAFe environment and how to effectively lead Scrum teams 

  • Applying servant leadership principles in a Scrum context 

  • Advanced topics in agile planning and execution 

  • Coaching and mentoring other Scrum Masters 


By taking the SAFe Advanced Scrum Master course, you will gain a deeper understanding of Scrum Methodology and the SAFe approach, which will enable you to: 

  • Lead your Scrum teams more effectively, and help them deliver high-quality software at a faster pace 

  • Apply servant leadership principles to guide your team and help them achieve their goals 

  • Plan and execute complex projects more efficiently and effectively 

  • Mentor and coach other Scrum Masters to help them improve their skills and lead their teams more effectively 

Upon completion of the course, you will be able to earn Scrum Master certification, which is recognized by the Scaled Agile Framework (SAFe) organization and demonstrates your expertise in the field. 

MicrosoftTeams-image (16).png

Foundational Level

Duration 2 Days

“A Scrum Master is like an orchestra conductor, guiding a group of individuals to create something that no one of them could create alone.
~Mike Cohn

Real-world success stories: Hear from our learners...

Benefits of doing the SAFe Advanced Scrum Master Course : 

  • Advanced Scrum knowledge to lead the Scrum team more effectively 

  • Understand and apply servant leadership in a Scrum context 

  • Learn advanced techniques in agile planning and execution 

  • Ability to coach and mentor other Scrum Masters 

  • Opportunity to earn Scrum Master certification from SAFe organization. 


Before taking the SAFe Advanced Scrum Master (ASM) course, it is recommended that you have a solid understanding of the Scrum framework and have some experience working as a Scrum Master.

The Scaled Agile Framework (SAFe) recommends that participants have the following prerequisites: 

  • A solid understanding of Scrum and experience working as a Scrum Master 

  • Any Scrum certification like Certified Scrum Master (CSM), Professional Scrum Master (PSM 1) or SAFe Scrum Master will be an added advantage but not mandatory 

  • Working as a Scrum Master for 1-2 Years 


If you do not meet any of these criteria, please contact our support team on our website and they will guide you with a pre cause for agile fundamentals and scrum basics. 

Learning Goals

  • Describe Scrum in a SAFe enterprise

  • Facilitate Scrum events

  • Facilitate effective Iteration execution

  • Support effective Program Increment execution

  • Support relentless improvement

  • Coach Agile teams for maximum business results

  • Support DevOps implementation

What Attendees Get

  • Printed workbook

  • Preparation and eligibility to take the SAFe® 5 Scrum Master (SSM) exam

  • One-year membership to the SAFe Community Platform

  • Course certificate of completion


  • All are welcome to attend the course, regardless of experience.

  • However, the following prerequisites are highly recommended:

  • Familiarity with Agile concepts and principles

  • Awareness of Scrum, Kanban, and eXtreme Programming (XP)

  • Working knowledge of software and hardware development processes

Exam Details

  • Completion of this course gives you access to the exam and all related study materials as part of your Learning Plan in the SAFe Community Platform.

  • For more information about the exam and benefits of becoming a Certified SAFe professional, head to the More Exam Details section.

Responsibilities of a Scrum Master

Facilitate PI Planning

Improve ART Performance

Build High-Performing Teams

Responsibilities of a Scrum Master

Facilitate PI Planning

Improve Flow

Build High-Performing Teams

Support Iteration Execution

Improve ART Performance

Advanced Scrum Master Certification

SAFe Advanced Scrum Master certification can be earned by completing a tow day mandatory Advanced Scrum Master (ASM) course and then taking an exam within 30 days of completing the training. 


 Advanced Scrum Master Certification gives you credibility in the job marker about your expertise of the SAFe strategy and the Scrum Methodology, demonstrating that you have skills to act as senior Scrum ambassador.  


The SAFe Advanced Scrum Master certification is valid for two years; after 2 years, you need to re-certify by passing the most recent version of the SAFe Advanced Scrum Master Exam or attending another ASM course. 

So the basic sequence of certification: 

  1. SAFe 4 Scrum Master 

  2. SAFe Advanced Scrum Master 

Note : Always check with the scaled agile website for the most up-to-date certification path and details. 

After earning the SAFe Advanced Scrum Master (ASM) certification, there are several other certifications that you can pursue to continue growing as a Scrum Master. Some of the most popular options include: 

SAFe Product Owner/Product Manager (POPM) certification:  

This certification demonstrates your expertise as a product owner or product manager in a SAFe environment and can help you advance your career in these roles. 

MicrosoftTeams-image (14).png

Professional Scrum Master (PSM) certification:  

This certification is offered by and demonstrates your knowledge and understanding of the Scrum framework. It is a widely recognized certification that can help you advance your career as a Scrum Master. 

MicrosoftTeams-image (11).png

Scaled Agile Framework (SAFe) Program Consultant (SPC) certification:  

To acquire SPC the training conducted by Scaled Agile is Implementing SAFe. This is for change agnets who wish to implement SAFe or deliver agile transformation or digital transformation in their organisational wish to work as consultants. 


Agile Project Management Professional (PMI-ACP) certification:  

This certification offered by PMI, demonstrate your knowledge of Agile Project management and its principles 

It's important to note that different certifications have different prerequisites and requirements, so you must check the specific requirements for each before you begin. Some certificates require additional training or have experience requirements. You can check the provider's websites for the most up-to-date information. 

It's also worth noting that certifications are not the only way to grow as a Scrum Master. You can also continue to learn and improve your skills through reading, attending workshops and conferences, and participating in online communities. 

bottom of page